Press Release back to list


From the home office in Wahoo, Nebraska...


"Fun Facts About the All-Star Game"


[As presented by 10 members of the 2012 Major League Baseball American League All-Star Team on the Monday, July 9 broadcast of the LATE SHOW with DAVID LETTERMAN, seen weeknights (11:35 PM12:37 AM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network.]


10. Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers:  This year, they’ve added an extra base.

9. Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins:  Catcher may be replaced by a designated squatter.

8. Chris Sale, Chicago White Sox: After the Home Run Derby, there’s now a Weak Grounder to Third Derby.

7. Jered Weaver, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: During the 1937 All-Star Game, Dizzy Dean was first player to yell “Go sit in the truck!”

6. David Price, Tampa Bay Rays:  All-Star etiquette requires players to spit discreetly into a handkerchief.

5. George Brett, All-Star Ambassador:  The game’s tomorrow and I still don’t know what the All-Star Ambassador does.

4. Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles:  Players need notes from two different doctors to get out of doing lame Top Ten Lists.

3. Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers:  This year’s game is cup-optional.

2. C.J. Wilson, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Earlier today, we all bonded at a matinee of “Magic Mike.”

1. Derek Jeter, New York Yankees:  Oh crap, the game’s tomorrow?!


The LATE SHOW with DAVID LETTERMAN is a presentation of Worldwide Pants Incorporated. Barbara Gaines, Matt Roberts, Jude Brennan, Maria Pope, Eric Stangel, Justin Stangel and Rob Burnett are the executive producers.


*     *     *


Press Contact: Kim Izzo-Emmet  212-975-3820 


©2012 Worldwide Pants Incorporated

All Rights Reserved


The radio broadcast rights to the LATE SHOW Top Ten for the United States and Canada have been licensed exclusively to CBS Radio by Worldwide Pants Incorporated.  No person, firm or corporation may make any radio broadcast or authorize any radio broadcast of the LATE SHOW Top Ten or any portion thereof within the United States or Canada without the express written consent of CBS Radio.


Kim Izzo-Emmet