Press Release back to list
09.09.2013

ICONIC SUPERSTAR AND MULTIPLE GRAMMY AWARD WINNER ELTON JOHN TO PERFORM AT THE “65TH PRIMETIME EMMY AWARDS,” TO BE BROADCAST LIVE SUNDAY, SEPT. 22 ON THE CBS TELEVISION NETWORK

            For the first time ever, legendary solo artist, Elton John, will perform on the Primetime Emmy® Awards stage. The multiple Grammy Award winner’s performance will pay tribute to the late world-renowned performer, Liberace, whose HBO biopic, “Behind the Candelabra,” is nominated for 15 Emmy Awards this year. This performance will accompany previously announced presenters Michael Douglas and Matt Damon, who are both nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie for their roles in the movie. The 65TH PRIMETIME EMMY® AWARDS will be broadcast live across the country 8:00-11:00 PM, ET/ 5:00-8:00 PM, PT from NOKIA Theater L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles, Sunday, Sept. 22 on the CBS Television Network.

While John has played more than 3,500 concerts in his career, this marks his first appearance at the Emmy Awards.  John’s upcoming album, The Diving Board, his first studio album in seven years, which is produced by T Bone Burnett, will be released on Sept. 24.

The 65TH PRIMETIME EMMY AWARDS is executive produced by Ken Ehrlich. Host Neil Patrick Harris and Renato Basile serve as producers and Louis J. Horvitz is director. If you plan to Tweet this story, please include #Emmys and mention @primetimeemmys, the official Emmys Twitter handle.

CHEAT TWEET:  Music legend @eltonjohndotcom announced to perform on the #Emmys 9/22 on CBS! @primetimeemmys http://bit.ly/17RyB5D

 

RATING: To Be Announced

Photos will be available on www.cbspressexpress.com

Official CBS Website: http://www.cbs.com/shows/emmy-awards/

Official Emmys Website: www.emmys.com 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/primetimeemmys

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PrimetimeEmmys

 

*     *     *

 

CBS Publicity:

Andrea Ballas         818-655-1581  andrea.ballas@cbs.com 

Sienna Sanders      818-655-1582  sienna.sanders@cbs.com 

 

CBS Photo:

Francis Cavanaugh  818-655-1540   francis.cavanaugh@cbs.com 

Gaye Ann Bruno     818-655-1542   gayeann.bruno@cbs.com 

Heather Wines        212-975-1079   hwines@cbs.com

 

PMK*BNC for the Television Academy:

Chris DiIorio            310-854-4866   chris.diiorio@pmkbnc.com 

Joanna Cichocki      310-854-4773   joanna.cichocki@pmkbnc.com