Press Release < back to list
09.11.2012

CBS LAUNCHES TWO INITIATIVES TO HELP VIEWERS NAVIGATE ADJUSTED START TIMES FOR SUNDAY SERIES ON NFL DOUBLEHEADER WEEKENDS

 

CBS’s Primetime Shows Will Be Listed to Start

30 Minutes Later Than Usual on NFL Doubleheader Dates

In Eastern and Central Time Zones,

With “60 Minutes” Leading the Night at 7:30 PM, ET/6:30 PM, CT

CBS’s Enhanced Multi-Platform Eye-lert System

Enables Viewers to Receive Updates on Further Changes

To Primetime Series Affected by Sunday Football Overruns

Via SMS Texts, Twitter, Facebook Posts and/or the Previously Established Email Alerts

          In an effort to further assist CBS’s Sunday night viewers in navigating primetime series time changes due to NFL overruns, CBS will list the scheduled start times for its Sunday night series 30 minutes later in Eastern and Central Time zones on doubleheader weekends.  The Network also unveiled a multi-platform upgrade to the CBS Eye-lert system, which informs viewers of any further adjusted start times.

           In response to the history of primetime delays on doubleheader weekends and the NFL’s recent announcement to move the kickoff time of the late afternoon games from 4:15 to 4:25 PM, ET, CBS will now list its lineup on NFL doubleheader Sundays as follows:

7:30 PM, ET/6:30 PM, CT -- 60 MINUTES

8:30 PM, ET/7:30 PM, CT -- BIG BROTHER 14 (through Sept. 16)

                                           THE AMAZING RACE (as of Sept. 30)

9:30 PM, ET/8:30 PM, CT -- THE GOOD WIFE

10:30 PM, ET/9:30 PM, CT -- THE MENTALIST

The NFL on CBS’s 2012 doubleheader Sundays are: Sept. 16 and 23; Oct. 7 and 21; Nov. 4 and 18; and Dec. 2, 16 and 30.  The start times for Sunday primetime series in Mountain and Pacific Time zones will remain as previously scheduled on those dates.

         Additionally, CBS has upgraded its Eye-lert system, which originally debuted in 2007 as a means of informing viewers of the delayed start times of CBS’s Sunday night programs affected by football overruns.

 Fans can now go to www.cbs.com/eye-lerts to sign up for SMS texts, Twitter tweets, Facebook updates and/or the previously established email alerts.  Viewers who are already registered for alert emails through the previous system will continue to receive them unless they choose to unsubscribe.

 Also, within a few weeks – prior to CBS’s official premiere week (Sept. 24-30) – viewers will be able to sign up for SMS text Eye-lerts without having to go online by texting a short code directly from their mobile device to register.  Details on this additional registration option will be announced in the coming weeks.

 In addition to the Eye-lert updates, CBS will continue to aggressively use on-air graphics on Sunday nights to alert viewers to adjusted start times.

* * *

CBS Contacts:

Phil Gonzales               818-655-1580             phil.gonzales@cbs.com

Barbara Abseck            212-975-4637             beabseck@cbs.com

 

CBS Interactive Contacts:

Rosabel Tao                  415-344-2515             rosabel.tao@cbsi.com

Morgan Seal                  646-424-4321             morgan.seal@cbsi.com

Press:

Phil Gonzales
818-655-1580
phil.gonzales@cbs.com

Barbara Abseck
212-975-4637
beabseck@cbs.com

Morgan Seal (CBS.com, CHOW.com, Last.fm, MetroLyrics, TV.com)
646-424-4321
morgan.seal@cbsi.com