Press Release back to list
12.12.2012

PBR SIGNS EXCLUSIVE TELEVISION AGREEMENT WITH CBS SPORTS

Deal Includes 100 hours of Event Programming on CBS Sports Network and

Increases Coverage on the CBS Television Network

The Professional Bull Riders and CBS Sports have signed an agreement that makes CBS Sports and CBS Sports Network the exclusive television home of PBR beginning in 2013.  The agreement extends CBS Sports’ deal with PBR, which began in 2012 and made CBS Sports Network PBR’s primary television partner.   

Through this new deal, CBS Sports Network will provide exclusive coverage of the World Finals from Las Vegas in October, which is the culmination of 40 telecasts covering 25 PBR events in 2013, an increase of 12 telecasts from 2012. In addition, CBS Sports will increase its PBR coverage, showcasing 10 events during the 2013 season. Together, CBS Sports and CBS Sports Network will air more than 100 hours of original event. The PBR season begins Jan. 4, 2013 with the Monster Energy Invitational in New York. Below is the full PBR television schedule.  

“PBR fans want as much event coverage as we can deliver, but they have also told us they want consistency of network and timeslot,” said Sean Gleason, PBR’s Chief Operating Officer. “CBS and CBS Sports Network have proven to be the ideal partners to meet our fans’ desire for extensive coverage of the vast majority of Built Ford Tough Series events. We are thrilled to complete the transition to a family of networks that greatly value PBR fans, and our unique brand of sports and entertainment television.”

“Extending our relationship with PBR was a priority for us, and we’re incredibly excited to become the exclusive television and cable partner for this strong property that has such a dynamic and loyal fan base,” said Dan Weinberg, Senior Vice President, Programming, CBS Sports Network. “We welcome the opportunity to continue servicing PBR fans by showcasing this fast-paced, gritty and exciting sport.”

PBR Built Ford Tough Series telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. Hired when the PBR brought television production in house in 2011, Neal has enhanced the broadcast including the addition of the truth booth, super-slow-motion replay system and a Telestrator, allowing the color commentators to diagram while analyzing rides.

 

About CBS Sports Network:

CBS Sports Network is the 24-hour cable home of CBS Sports. The Network covers more than 350 live games annually, showcasing more than 30 men’s and women’s sports, in addition to a variety of studio shows, documentaries and original programs. CBSSN’s live programming is highlighted by college sports and also features professional lacrosse, Professional Bull Riding (PBR), the sports news and commentary show ROME, the weekly studio show NFL Monday QB and the Tim Brando Show. CBS Sports Network is available across the country through local cable, video and telco providers and via satellite on DirecTV Channel 613 and Dish Network Channel 158. For more information, and to access the CBS Sports Network channel finder, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com.

 

About the Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR)

The world’s premier bull riding organization, the PBR celebrates 20 years of competition with the 2013 season. In just two decades, the dream of 20 bull riders has become a global sports phenomenon that is televised worldwide with more than 100 million viewers annually watching primetime PBR programming on networks around the world, and nearly 2 million fans attend live events each year. PBR has paid out over $100 million in earnings to its athletes, and 25 riders have earned over $1 million, including Justin McBride with $5.5 million -- the most of any western sports athlete in history.

 

# # #

 

Media Contacts:

Dan Sabreen, 212-975-5936, dsabreen@cbs.com

Jack Carnefix, 732-213-2121, jcarnefix@pbr.com

 

 

2013 PBR TV SCHEDULE

(ALL TIMES EASTERN)

 

Jan. 5 (Sat)

Monster Energy Invitational

 Madison Square Garden, New York, NY

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Jan. 6 (Sun)

Monster Energy Invitational

Madison Square Garden, New York, NY

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Jan. 12 (Sat)

Chicago Invitational

Allstate Arena, Chicago, IL

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Jan. 13 (Sun)

Chicago Invitational

Allstate Arena, Chicago, IL

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Jan. 19 (Sat)

Winston-Salem Invitational

LJVM Coliseum, Winston-Salem, NC

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Jan. 20 (Sun)

Winston-Salem Invitational

LJVM Coliseum, Winston-Salem, NC

CBS

2:00 PM

Jan. 26 (Sat)

WinStar World Casino Invitational

Chesapeake Energy Arena, Oklahoma City, OK

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

 

Jan. 27 (Sun)

WinStar World Casino Invitational

Chesapeake Energy Arena, Oklahoma City, OK

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Feb. 2 (Sat)

Sacramento Invitational

Sleep Train Arena, Sacramento, CA

CBS

1:00 PM

Feb. 9 (Sat)

LiftMaster Invitational

Honda Center, Anaheim, CA

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Feb. 10 (Sun)

LiftMaster Invitational

Honda Center, Anaheim, CA

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Feb. 16 (Sat)

St. Louis Invitational

Scottrade Center, St. Louis, MO

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Feb. 17 (Sun)

St. Louis Invitational

Scottrade Center, St. Louis, MO

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Feb. 24 (Sun)

Built Ford Tough Invitational

Sprint Center, Kansas City, MO

CBS

1:00 PM

Feb. 24 (Sun)

Built Ford Tough Invitational

Sprint Center, Kansas City, MO

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Mar. 2 (Sat)

Dickies Iron Cowboy IV

Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, TX

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Mar. 3 (Sun)

Dickies Iron Cowboy IV

Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, TX

CBS

1:00 PM

Mar. 10 (Sun)

Tacoma Invitational

Tacoma Dome, Tacoma, WA

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Mar. 16 (Sat)

Table Mountain Casino Invitational

Save Mart Center, Fresno, CA

CBS Sports Network

12:00 AM

Mar. 17 (Sun)

Table Mountain Casino Invitational

Save Mart Center, Fresno, CA

CBS Sports Network

6:00 PM

Mar. 23 (Sat)

Ty Murray Invitational

The Pit, Albuquerque, NM

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Mar. 24 (Sun)

Ty Murray Invitational

The Pit, Albuquerque, NM

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

April 7 (Sun)

Stanley Tools and Security Invitational

Rimrock Auto Arena, Billings, MT

CBS

1:00 PM

April 7 (Sun)

Stanley Tools and Security Invitational

Rimrock Auto Arena, Billings, MT

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

April 14 (Sun)

Louisville Invitational

KFC Yum! Center, Louisville, KY

CBS Sports Network

1:00 PM

April 21 (Sun)

Des Moines Invitational

Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines, IA

CBS

1:00 PM

April 21 (Sun)

Des Moines Invitational

Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines, IA

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

April 28 (Sun)

DEWALT Guaranteed Tough Invitational

Idaho Center, Boise, ID

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

May 11 (Sat)

Las Vegas Invitational

Mandalay Bay Events, Las Vegas, NV

CBS

4:00 PM

May 12 (Sun)

Las Vegas Invitational

Mandalay Bay Events, Las Vegas, NV

CBS

4:00 PM

Aug. 17 (Sat)

Tulsa Invitational

BOK Center, Tulsa, OK

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Aug. 23 (Fri)

Jack Daniel’s Invitational

Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, TN

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Aug. 24 (Sat)

Jack Daniel’s Invitational

Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, TN

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Aug. 30 (Fri)

WinStar World Casino Invitational

WinStar World Casino, Thackerville, OK

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Aug. 31 (Sat)

WinStar World Casino Invitationl

WinStar World Casino, Thackerville, OK

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Sept. 7 (Sat)

Oakland Invitational

Oakland, CA

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Sept 14 (Sat)

PFIWestern.com Invitational

JQH Arena, Springfield, MO

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Sept. 15 (Sun)

PFIWestern.com Invitational

JQH Arena, Springfield, MO

CBS Sports Network

8:00 PM

Sept. 21 (Sat)

Beau Rivage Casino Invitational

Mississippi Coast Coliseum

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Sept. 22 (Sun)

Beau Rivage Casino Invitational

Mississippi Coast Coliseum

CBS

1:00 PM

Sept. 28 (Sat)

Grand Rapids Invitational

Van Andel Arena, Grand Rapids, MI

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Oct. 5 (Sat)

Fayetteville Invitational

Crown Center, Fayetteville, NC

CBS Sports Network

11:00 PM

Oct. 6 (Sun)

Fayetteville Invitational

Crown Center, Fayetteville, NC

CBS

1:00 PM

Oct. 11 (Fri)

TBD

TBD

CBS Sports Network

10:00 PM

Oct. 12 (Sat)

TBD

TBD

CBS

11:00 PM

Oct. 23 (Wed)

2013 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Thomas & Mack Center, Las Vegas, NV

CBS

9:00 PM

Oct. 24 (Thurs)

2013 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Thomas & Mack Center, Las Vegas, NV

CBS Sports Network

9:00 PM

 

Oct. 25 (Fri)

2013 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Thomas & Mack Center, Las Vegas, NV

CBS Sports Network

 

9:00 PM

Oct. 26 (Sat)

2013 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Thomas & Mack Center, Las Vegas, NV

CBS Sports Network

9:00 PM

Oct. 27 (Sun)

2013 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Thomas & Mack Center, Las Vegas, NV

CBS Sports Network

4:00 PM

Press:

Dan Sabreen
212-975-5936
dsabreen@cbs.com