Wheel of Fortune



Currently in its 33rd season in syndication, Wheel of Fortune is America’s Game®.  Created by Merv Griffin in 1975 as an NBC daytime show, Wheel of Fortune is based on the popular game “Hangman.”  Pat Sajak and Vanna White have hosted the show since its debut in syndication in 1983.  Jim Thornton became the show’s announcer in 2011.

Three contestants compete by spinning The Wheel and calling out consonants for money or prizes. Once a contestant has earned money by spinning The Wheel and calling out a correct consonant, they are able to buy vowels for $250 each.

The contestant who has won the most cash and prizes at the end of the main game is the big winner and plays in the Bonus Round for additional prizes.  No one leaves Wheel of Fortune empty-handed; each contestant is awarded a minimum of $1,000 cash.

Some of the exciting game elements include:


Wheel of Fortune is produced by Sony Pictures Television, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company.  The executive producer is Harry Friedman.  It is distributed domestically by CBS Television Distribution and internationally by CBS Studios International, both units of CBS Corp.




© 2015 Califon Productions, Inc. "Wheel of Fortune" and “America’s Game” are registered trademarks of Califon Productions, Inc. All Rights Reserved.