Press Release < back to list
11.03.2010

SIMON & SCHUSTER TO PUBLISH MEMOIR BY CBS NEWS CORRESPONDENT STEVE HARTMAN

 New York, N.Y., November 1, 2010 - CBS News correspondent Steve Hartman, whose popular, award-winning feature series, "Everybody Has a Story," has taken him all over the world to interview ordinary people randomly picked from the local phone book, will write a memoir for Simon & Schuster, it was announced today. Entitled EVERYBODY HAS A STORY, and scheduled for publication in 2012, the book will be about what Hartman has learned while traveling and reporting his offbeat stories for CBS--discovering that, no matter where you go, everyone has a story to tell.

 

 Jonathan Karp, Executive Vice President and Publisher of S&S, who negotiated the agreement for world rights with Jenny Bent of The Bent Agency, wrote to Hartman back in 2004 after seeing one of his stories, but didn't receive a proposal from him until six years later, when, Hartman explained, he was finally ready to write the book. 

 

Steve Hartman said, "I had no problem finding stories in other people, but I didn't have a clue what mine was.  It has taken me this long to figure it out."

 

 Karp commented: "Steve Hartman is a great American chronicler in the tradition of Jimmy Breslin, Bob Greene, and Charles Kuralt, with his own voice and humor, and I'm sure readers are going to enjoy accompanying him on this journey."

 

 A CBS News correspondent since 1998, Hartman has won many prestigious journalism awards for his work, including an Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia University Award for writing and four RTNDA/Edward R Murrow Awards, with three consecutive citations for Best Writing. Previously, he was a columnist for "60 Minutes Wednesday" and was a correspondent for two primetime CBS News magazines, "Public Eye with Bryant Gumbel" and "Coast to Coast."

 

Simon & Schuster, a part of the CBS Corporation, is a global leader in the field of general interest publishing, dedicated to providing the best in fiction and nonfiction for consumers of all ages, across all printed, electronic, and audio formats. Its divisions include Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing, Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, Simon & Schuster Audio, Simon & Schuster Digital, and international companies in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom. For more information, visit our website at http://www.simonandschuster.com/

 

Contact:  Tracey Guest, 212-698-7533 tracey.guest@simonandschuster.com

 

 

 

Press:

Tracey Guest
212-698-7533
tracey.guest@simonandschuster.com