Press Release back to list


KROQ Los Angeles Dominates the Alternative Category With Five Awards

CBS RADIO stations across the country have been honored with Industry Achievement Awards by Radio & Records magazine.  The 16 awards for industry excellence were presented at the 8th annual ceremony during Radio & Records' Convention 2006 last week in Dallas.

KROQ Los Angeles was awarded five honors, continuing its reign in the Alternative category at the R&R awards.  KROQ was named the Alternative Station of the Year, Program Director of the Year went to Kevin Weatherly, Music Director of the Year to Lisa Worden, and Show of the Year to Kevin & Bean.  KROQ's Amy Stevens won the Marketing/Promotion Director of the Year in the National Radio category. 

Station of the Year awards went to WBMX Boston for Hot AC markets 1-25, KOOL Phoenix for Oldies market, KMXB Las Vegas for Hot AC markets 26-100 and WPEG Charlotte for Urban markets 26-100.

Dave Koz & Pat Prescott of KTWV Los Angeles were awarded the Smooth Jazz Personalities of the Year award. Their show, "Dave Koz in the morning with Pat Prescott" ranks in the Top 10 of Los Angeles area morning drive programs.  Detroit radio legend Dick Purtan of WOMC was given the Oldies Personality of the Year award. His "Purtan's People" show remains one of Detroit's top morning programs. 

Awards for Program Directors and Music Directors were awarded to five CBS RADIO directors.  Paul Goldstein of KTWV Los Angeles won Smooth Jazz Program Director of the Year, Becky Brenner of KMPS Seattle won Country Program Director of the Year, Charley Lake of KOOL Phoenix won Oldies Program Director of the Year Mark Edwards of KEZK St. Louis won AC Program Director of the Year and Erik Bradley of WBBM Chicago won Rhythmic Music Director of the Year.