CBS Sports broadcasts third- and final-round coverage of the JOHN DEERE CLASSIC on Saturday, July 14 and Sunday, July 15 (3:00-6:00 PM, ET; both days) live from TPC at Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. as three-time defending champion Steve Stricker looks to become just the fifth golfer in the past 140 years to win the same tournament four consecutive years.


Historically a haven for first-time PGA TOUR winners, a different type of history could be made by Stricker this week.  If he completes the “Stricker Slam,” he will join Tom Morris, Jr. (British Open, 1868-72; tournament was not contested in 1871), Walter Hagen (PGA Championship, 1924-27), Gene Sarazen (Miami Open, 1926, 1928-30 – schedule change in 1927) and Tiger Woods (Bay Hill, 2000-03; Buick Invitational, 2005-08; World Golf Championship-Bridgestone Invitational, 2005-07, 2009 – did not compete in 2008 due to injury) as the only golfers to win the same tournament four consecutive years.


Stricker looks to defend his 2009, 2010 and 2011 titles against the likes of past John Deere Classic champions including Jonathan Byrd (2007), John Senden (2006) and Sean O’Hair (2005); past major champions including Zach Johnson, Stewart Cink, David Duval, Shaun Micheel, Todd Hamilton, Lee Janzen, John Daly and Y.E. Yang; as well as last year’s John Deere Classic runner-up Kyle Stanley, Camilo Villegas, Nick Watney, Tommy Gainey, Jhonattan Vegas, Chez Reavie, Brendon de Jonge, D.J. Trahan, Charles Howell III,  Rocco Mediate, D.A. Points, Boo Weekley, Stuart Appelby, Chris DiMarco, Woody Austin, and last week’s Greenbrier Classic champion Ted Potter, Jr., making his first appearance at the John Deere Classic. 


CBS Sports’ announce team of Bill Macatee and Ian Baker-Finch in the 18th tower, Peter Oosterhuis on the 17th hole, and David Feherty on the 16th hole, call the action.


Lance Barrow is Coordinating Producer, Golf, CBS Sports and Steve Milton directs CBS Sports’ golf coverage.  Harold Bryant is Executive Producer and Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.


Follow us on Twitter @PGAonCBS and @CBSSportsGang  


* * * * *


CBS Sports Contacts: Robin Brendle  212/975-1533

  Jerry Caraccioli 212/975-7466





Broadcast Dates 

And Times (PM, ET) Tournament Location 


July 14 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      John Deere Classic                TPC Deere Run

July 15 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                       Silvis, Ill.


July 28 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      RBC Canadian Open            Hamilton Golf and Country Club

July 29 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                       Ancaster, Ontario, Canada


Aug. 4 (2:00-6:00 PM)                       WGC-Bridgestone              Firestone Country Club                    

Aug. 5 (2:00-6:00 PM)                        Invitational                         South Course

Akron, Ohio


Aug. 9 (12:37-1:07 AM)                     PGA Championship          The Ocean Course

Aug. 10 (12:37-1:07 AM)                                                           Kiawah Island, S.C.

Aug. 11 (2:00-7:00 PM)  

Aug. 12 (2:00-7:00 PM)


Aug. 18 (3:00-6:00 PM)                     Wyndham Championship Sedgefield Country Club

Aug. 19 (3:00-6:00 PM)                        Greensboro, N.C.


Aug. 25 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      The Barclays                         Bethpage State Park’s

Aug. 26 (2:00-6:00 PM)                                                                      Black Course

        Farmingdale, N.Y.