Press Release back to list


         Defending champion Fredrik Jacobson takes on 2012 U.S. Open winner Webb Simpson, 2012 Masters champion Bubba Watson and 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley in a star-powered field at the TRAVELERS CHAMPIONSHIP.  CBS Sports covers all the action from TPC at River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn., broadcasting the third and final rounds on Saturday, June 23 and Sunday, June 24 (3:00-6:00 PM, ET, both days), live on the CBS Television Network. 

        CBS Sports’ Jim Nantz, three-time Emmy Award winner and five-time national Sportscaster of the Year, now in his 27th year with CBS, serves as anchor of CBS Sports’ golf coverage. Ian Baker-Finch provides commentary along with Nantz from the 18th hole tower. Gary McCord calls the action at the 17th hole and Peter Kostis at the 16th hole.

        Last year, Jacobson earned his first PGA TOUR victory at the Travelers Championship with a final-round 4-under 66, one stroke better than John Rollins and Ryan Moore. He will shoot to be the first player since Phil Mickelson in 2002 to successfully defend his Travelers Championship title.  Jacobson competes in a field which includes 11 major championship winners, including the last three major champions as well as Angel Cabrera,  Lucas Glover, Padraig Harrington, Zach Johnson, Justin Leonard, Louis Oosthuizen, Vijay Singh and Y.E. Yang.   This year’s field  includes four other past Travelers champions: Watson, Kenny Perry, Hunter Mahan and J.J. Henry.  The standout field also includes Ian Poulter, Matt Kuchar, Michael Thompson, Ryo Ishikawa, Bo Van Pelt, Camilo Villegas, Ricky Barnes, Tim Clark, Rory Sabbatini, Sean O’Hair,  Charley Hoffman, Sang-Moon Bae, Stuart Appleby, Charlie Wi, J.B. Holmes, Kevin Na, Jason Bohn, Aaron Baddeley, Johnson Wagner, Kevin Stadler, Chez Reavie, Ryan Moore, John Merrick and amateurs Patrick Cantlay from UCLA who shot a second-round 10-under 60 here last year and Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers making his first PGA TOUR start.  

        Lance Barrow is Coordinating Producer, CBS Sports’ golf.  Jim Rikhoff will produce CBS’s coverage of the Travelers Championship and Chris Svendsen will direct.  Harold Bryant is Executive Producer and Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.


Follow us on Twitter @PGAonCBS and @CBSSportsGang 



Broadcast Dates

And Times (PM, ET)                         Tournament                            Location         

June 9 (3:00-6:00 PM)                        FedEx St. Jude Classic           TPC Southwind

June10 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                      Memphis, Tenn.


June 23 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      Travelers                                 TPC River Highlands

June 24 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      Championship                         Cromwell, Conn.


June 30 (3:00-6:00 PM)                       AT&T National                        Congressional Country Club

July 1 (3:00-6:30 PM)                                                                         Bethesda, Md.


July 7 (3:00-6:00 PM)                         The Greenbrier Classic           The Old White Course TPC

July 8 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                        White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.


July 14 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      John Deere Classic                  TPC Deere Run

July 15 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                      Silvis, Ill.


July 28 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      RBC Canadian Open               Hamilton Golf and Country Club

July 29 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                      Ancaster, Ontario, Canada


Aug. 4 (2:00-6:00 PM)                       WGC-Bridgestone                   Firestone Country Club                    

Aug. 5 (2:00-6:00 PM)                       Invitational                              South Course

                                                                                                       Akron, Ohio


Aug. 9 (12:37-1:07 AM)                     PGA Championship                 The Ocean Course

Aug. 10 (12:37-1:07 AM)                                                                    Kiawah Island, S.C.

Aug. 11 (2:00-7:00 PM)                      

Aug. 12 (2:00-7:00 PM)


Aug. 18 (3:00-6:00 PM)                     Wyndham Championship        Sedgefield Country Club

Aug. 19 (3:00-6:00 PM)                                                                     Greensboro, N.C.


Aug. 25 (3:00-6:00 PM)                      The Barclays                          Bethpage State Park’s

Aug. 26 (2:00-6:00 PM)                                                                    Black Course

                                                                                                      Farmingdale, N.Y.        


Robin Brendle