Press Release back to list
01.23.2018

CBS SPORTS TEES OFF 2018 GOLF COVERAGE WITH MOST COMPREHENSIVE LINEUP IN NETWORK TELEVISION

January 23, 2018

 

CBS SPORTS TEES OFF 2018 GOLF COVERAGE WITH

MOST COMPREHENSIVE LINEUP IN NETWORK TELEVISION;

23 TOURNAMENTS BEGINS WITH “FARMERS INSURANCE OPEN” ON JAN. 27-28

Masters Tournament To Air 63rd Consecutive Year on CBS

Network Broadcasts Historic 100th PGA Championship

CBS Sports begins its 2018 golf coverage and continues to offer viewers the most comprehensive lineup in network television. CBS Sports broadcasts 23 golf tournaments this year, totaling more than 155 hours of coverage, including the Masters Tournament, 100th PGA Championship, 21 PGA TOUR events and more than 10 golf specials.

CBS Sports tees off the 2018 season this weekend at the FARMERS INSURANCE OPEN on Saturday, Jan. 27 (4:00-7:00 PM, ET) and Sunday, Jan. 28 (3:00-6:30 PM, ET), live from Torrey Pines Golf Course in San Diego, Calif. Jim Nantz, now in his 33rd year overall with CBS Sports, serves as anchor of the Network’s golf coverage. Nick Faldo, winner of six majors and more than 40 tournaments worldwide, returns for his 12th year as lead analyst alongside Nantz in the 18th tower. Ian Baker-Finch calls the action at the 17th hole and Gary McCord at the 16th hole. Peter Kostis and Dottie Pepper serve as on-course reporters and Amanda Balionis as contributor. Frank Nobilo, Bill Macatee and Verne Lundquist also serve as announcers for select tournaments throughout the season, including the Masters and PGA Championship.

CBS Sports continues an unprecedented level of production and technical enhancements for its golf coverage.  This year on every PGA TOUR event, CBS will use Toptracer by Topgolf ball tracing technology including the capability to trace second and third shots wirelessly, along with Virtual Eye which provides tracking graphics and statistics within a 3D hole model while simultaneously showing tee shots, as well as flyover animation on second shots from the fairway.

Coverage also includes CBS’s Emmy Award-winning innovation SwingVision and Smartcart. In 2016, CBS was the first U.S. network to debut Smartcart on select tournaments. Smartcart technology allows announcers to analyze and telestrate a myriad of data including golf swings and shots, difficulty of holes, scorecards and compelling content from action on the course.

Throughout the season, CBS will use different technology to improve the storytelling and viewer experience such as green technology for putting, bunker cams, more enhanced audio and drone technology, as well as more in development stages.

Beginning this weekend, and for all PGA TOUR events this year, CBS Sports’ full coverage will be available to stream live in markets across the U.S. via the CBS All Access subscription service, with additional coverage on CBSSports.com and the CBS Sports app. 

The 2018 schedule:

Farmers Insurance Open, Waste Management Phoenix Open, AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, Genesis Open, The Honda Classic, Masters Tournament, RBC Heritage, Valero Texas Open, Zurich Classic of New Orleans, Wells Fargo Championship, AT&T Byron Nelson, DEAN & DELUCA Invitational, the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide, FedEx St. Jude Classic, Travelers Championship, The National, The Greenbrier Classic, John Deere Classic, RBC Canadian Open, WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, 100th PGA Championship, Wyndham Championship and The Northern Trust.

In additon, CBS Sports will broadcast four PGA TOUR Specials and two PGA of America Specials along with other golf specials throughout the year. CBS Sports also will present JIM NANTZ REMEMBERS AUGUSTA: FRED COUPLES AT THE MASTERS on Sunday, April 8 (1:00-2:00 PM, ET).

Lance Barrow is coordinating producer and Steve Milton is director for CBS Sports' golf coverage. Sean McManus is Chairman, CBS Sports. David Berson is President, CBS Sports. Dan Weinberg is Executive Vice President, Programming, CBS Sports. Harold Bryant is Executive Producer and Senior Vice President, Production, CBS Sports.

The complete CBS Sports 2018 golf broadcast schedule follows.

Follow us on Twitter: @CBSSportsGang and @GOLFonCBS

* * *

CBS Sports Contacts: Jen Sabatelle 212-975-4120 jsabatelle@cbs.com

Robin Brendle 212-975-1533 rlbrendle@cbs.com

2018 CBS GOLF SCHEDULE

 

DATES TOURNAMENT TIME (ET)

 

 

 

 

 

Sat., Jan. 27

Sun., Jan. 28

Farmers Insurance Open

Torrey Pines Golf Course, South Course,

San Diego, CA

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

4:00-7:00 PM

3:00-6:30 PM

Sat., Feb 3

Sun., Feb 4

Waste Management Phoenix Open

TPC Scottsdale, Stadium Course, AZ

 

 

Third Round

Final Round

4:00-7:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

Sat., Feb. 10

Sun., Feb. 11

AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

Pebble Beach Golf Links/Spyglass Hill Golf Course/

Monterey Peninsula CC, Pebble Beach, CA

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

4:00-7:00 PM

3:00-6:30 PM

 

 

 

 

Sat., Feb. 17

Sun., Feb. 18

Genesis Open

Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, CA

 

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

4:00-7:00 PM

3:00-6:30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Sat., Feb. 24

Sun., Feb. 25

The Honda Classic

PGA National, Championships Course,

Palm Beach, Gardens, FL

 

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Thurs., April 5

Fri., April 6

Sat., April 7

Sun., April 8

Masters Tournament

Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA

 

Masters Highlights

Masters Highlights

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

11:35-11:50 PM

11:35-11:50 PM

3:00-7:00 PM

2:00-7:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., April 14

Sun., April 15

RBC Heritage

Harbour Town Golf Links, Hilton Head Island, SC

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., April 21

Sun., April 22

Valero Texas Open

TPC San Antonio, AT&T Oaks Course, San Antonio, TX

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., April 28

Sun., April 29

Zurich Classic of New Orleans

TPC Louisiana, Avondale, LA

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., May 5

Sun., May 6

Wells Fargo Championship

Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, NC

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat, May 19

Sun, May 20

AT&T Byron Nelson

Trinity Forest Golf Club, Dallas, TX

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

Sat., May 26

Sun., May 27

DEAN & DELUCA Invitational

Colonial Country Club, Ft. Worth, TX

 

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

Sat., June 2

Sun., June 3

The Memorial Tournament

Presented by Nationwide

Muirfield Village Golf Club, Dublin, OH

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

2:30-6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

Sat., June 9

Sun., June 10

FedEx St. Jude Classic

TPC Southwind, Memphis, TN

 

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

Sat., June 23

Sun., June 24

Travelers Championship

TPC River Highlands, Cromwell, CT

 

Third Round

Final Round

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., June 30

Sun., July 1

The National

TBD

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:30 PM

 

 

 

Sat., July 7

Sun., July 8

The Greenbrier Classic

The Old White TPC, White Sulphur Springs, WV

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., July 14

Sun., July 15

John Deere Classic

TPC Deere Run, Silvis, IL

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., July 28

Sun., July 29

RBC Canadian Open

Glen Abbey Golf Club, Oakville, Ontario, Canada

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

Sat., Aug. 4

Sun., Aug. 5

WGC-Bridgestone Invitational

Firestone Country Club, South Course, Akron, OH

 

Third Round

Final Round

2:00-6:00 PM

2:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Thurs. Aug. 9

Fri., Aug. 10

Sat., Aug. 11

Sun., Aug. 12

100th PGA Championship

Bellerive Country Club, St. Louis, MO

 

PGA Championship Highlights

PGA Championship Highlights

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

12:37-1:07 AM

12:37-1:07 AM

2:00-7:00 PM

2:00-7:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., Aug. 18

Sun., Aug. 19

Wyndham Championship

Sedgefield Country Club, Greensboro, NC

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

3:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

Sat., Aug. 25

Sun., Aug. 26

The Northern Trust

Ridgewood Country Club, Paramus, NJ

 

Third Round

Final Round

 

 

 

3:00-6:00 PM

2:00-6:00 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Press:

Jennifer Sabatelle
212-975-4120
jsabatelle@cbs.com

Robin Brendle
212-975-1533
rlbrendle@cbs.com